��� 2004-07-16, 8:46 p.m.

Shoes

Well, my triathlon-bound friend has finally rubbed off on me. I found a charity/benefit-race-running partner and bought a pair of real running shoes today. I have several races in mind over the next couple of months and will begin actually running this weekend.

Which got me thinking about shoes. The shoes you wear can tell you more about the point in your life you're in than most other things. Show me a pair of shoes that I've owned and I'll tell you what phase of my life I was in when I wore them. As a teenager, I wore pretty much exclusively black velcro sneakers. When I moved into my thrash metal grunge stage, I had these cheap black boots with fake buckles on the sides. When I was in my ultra-Renaissance phase, I had these awesome little black boots with tiny heels and an embroidered shiny black flower design on the side that laced up my ankle. Etc, etc. Now the shoes that I own are: brown casual sandals, black Eccho berkenstock-style sandals, a pair of Munroe slip-on leather sandals, and now, a real pair of running shoes.

What does all this mean? I realize that my shoes are evolving with my life. My position, personality and goals are reflected in my shoes. I guess since women are constantly changing that's why we tend to buy more shoes than men.

That's my theory on life for the day. Take it or leave it :)

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!