��� 2004-06-16, 10:51 p.m.

Wildlife

Since I've moved to Georgia, I've seen varied wildlife out my window. Last year, I saw a bobcat in the backyard area of my apartment complex. A few weeks back, I saw a bizarre little mole crawling atop the bushes outside my work window. Today, I was busily working along like a good little slave and thought I heard some yowling.

I stopped, didn't hear it again, and kept working. A few minutes later I heard it again, more pleading and incessant. So looked outside my window and lo and behold, there was a tiny kitten on the sidewalk, crying his little heart out.

Immediately I walked into Mary K's office, announced that there was a kitten outside, and walked out. She followed in short order. To make a long story short, we coaxed him out of th bushes, caught him and brought him into the office right before a monsoon hit. Mary K put him in a box and took him off to the vet.

I grew up around baby kittens. There was always a mama cat around the farm pregnant out to the highway. I guessed the kitten's age at 5 weeks, no more than 6. The vet says he's about 9 weeks. Very skinny and malnourished. Poor little thing. He now has a happy home with Mary K, animal lover extrodinaire. The little guy won't shut up between gulps of cat food and made it very difficult to get work done this afternoon. He sure is cute, though!

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!