��� 2004-06-24, 9:12 p.m.

Aftermath

My mom has moved on after spending four days here in the ATL. She brought her boyfriend, Bob. He's entertaining and they have fun. He's absolutely nothing like my dad. Watching my mom kiss and hold hands with someone else was a little weird but I think I handled it ok.

Yesterday we spent the day at Stone Mountain Park (www.stonemountainpark.com). We walked around, took a train ride, learned about the "war between the states." At least they don't call it the "war of northern agression." We were touring the placards and monuments when it started to rain. It began to pour and we were stuck under the coverings of the outdoor restrooms for 20 minutes while the monsoon took place. When you've withstood 20 minutes of gale force rain with your mom, her boyfriend, your brother, your sister in law and your one year old nephew, you learn a few things about yourself. I learned that I'd achieved six mosquito bites. One was on the middle finger of my left hand. My brother asked me which finger got bit and I showed him. I think it's the first time I've flipped off a sibling.

The problem with not having kids is that people keep asking you when you're going to. My sister in law asked me for the fiftieth time when Bill and I are going to have kids. I told her that would happen when my birth control failed.

For now, I'm glad to be back to business as usual. I will kick back, finish my wine and recover from the non-stop action of a visit from Mom.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!