��� 2004-06-15, 10:08 p.m.

First Thoughts

Yesterday I got a birthday card from an old friend from high school. She told me that she's an aunt now, that her brother is now the proud father of a baby boy. My first thought (and this is terrible) was...Gerald had sex???

Tonight we had an evaluation contest at Toastmasters. For some bizarre reason I had signed up to be a contestant. To my immense suprise, I came in second. My first thought was, "wow, everyone else must have really sucked."

It's a good thing I usually think first and speak second.

Today's big event was shopping for a new shower curtain. Our old one is a plastic monstrosity we bought in a mad rush and momentary but severe lapse in judgement when we first moved down here two years ago. It's starting to fall apart and the little blue fishies on it just aren't ringing my bell anymore. Plus with my mom coming to visit I have to make at least one room look decorated. So I walk down the bath isle in Target today and see the perfect marbled hunter green shower curtain, the cool kind with drapes and ties. It's the only one, and there is no label on it. Is it just me, or does this stupid crap happen to everyone in order to skew our days?

Well, since I made it out of Target alive and with green shower curtain in tow, I suppose I should go put it up before I get too tired. At least Target treats me better than the dreaded Wal-Mart. I can't come within 100 feet of a Wal-Mart without something fucked up happening to me. Like the time someone screamed and went tearing out of the store while I was standing at the checkout. 300 people turned and stared. I've also been asked out by some guy that followed me from the pet food aisle to the dairy aisle. The list goes on and on.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!