��� 2004-06-14, 8:04 p.m.

Suprise, Suprise

Today was a Monday full of suprises.

First, I woke up another year older. Yep, it's my birthday.

Second, I got to work and spent three and a half hours in my boss's office, going through issues that should have taken 45 minutes. (Okay, so not such a big suprise there but rather an unpleasant way to spend one's birthday morning.)

Third, a co-worker of mine (Rose) made me a cheesecake. (This wasn't such a big suprise either since I'd only been dropping hints about her fabulous cheesecake for weeks.)

Fourth, I got a call from my best friend who was supposed to be having breast reduction surgery this morning. She backed out of it and the surgery didn't happen. I thought she was gung-ho for it, so this was a genuine suprise.

Fifth, I arrived home to find a dozen red roses and an unbelievably sweet card from my husband on the kitchen table. Another real suprise.

Sixth, and the finale, I got a call from my best friend's boyfriend telling me that he had a ring for her and when was I available for an engagement party/wedding. Holy crap for crap, this was the biggest one of all. I'm on my second glass of wine getting over it. Ok, I planned on the wine anyway but it's really helping.

My first reaction to the doozy of #6 was WHAT IS SHE THINKING?? NO WAY!! PLEASE RECONSIDER! Then I moved on, after finishing my wine, to well, she's gonna do what she's gonna do. Now I've looked back over the past year and realized how much personal progress she has made while dating him. You don't make personal progress dating someone who's high maintenance, super emotional or a drain on your person resources. You make personal progress while seeing someone who brings out the best in you, who supports you and who doesn't come home drunk and pass out on the floor.

Yes, this is a long way to come in just over an hour. But I think I'm realizing that my friend is indeed an adult, quite capable of knowing what is right for her and what is not. She's rational, level-headed and future-minded. If she thinks this is the best for her, then I do too. Since I know you will read this, shesgonnatri, a good marraige is the most wonderful thing in the world. A man who is steady, rational and not full of suprises is worth his weight in gold. I wish you the best no matter what, but I especially wish you the best in this. Real love, not based on wild emotion or reckless passion, is something to be treasured. I will gladly welcome jb into our lives. (Hehe, yep, I come with the package!!)

Moving on, since I don't like to cry at the keyboard, having a birthday on a Monday blows. I got up when I didn't want to, went to work, got groceries and came home. Just like a normal day. Ack, crap. BUT I got to open a bottle of my favorite wine and I am not going to do ANY cleaning. (Ok, maybe a little, my mom IS on her way here at the end of the week.)

We did some celebrating on Saturday, a more suitable day for partying. After Kung-Fu and learning that I am in fact improving at sparring, I cleaned a little house (yes, yes, no celebration but it made me feel better) then got dressed up for dinner. We went to a place called Anthony's (www.anthonysfinedining.com). Mostly I wanted to go there because it looks damn cool and is supposed to have a ghost. I didn't see any ghosts while we were there, but they did have complimentary valet parking and we were able to enjoy live music from one of the three receptions going on that night. The service suffered because the servers were so damned busy, but the food quality made us decide that if we were going to spend $200 on a dinner again that it wouldn't be there. Bill got the wrong entree but it tasted good so we let it go. I got a filet mignon (yes, I ate beef, a rarity these days) but I can honestly say I've had better for much cheaper. ($34 for an okay steak is not acceptable.) On the upside, the atmosphere was very nice. The restaurant is a converted old house, very large, and the bedrooms have all become dining rooms. It was very authentic and smelled like an old house (good for an old-house buff like me).

Alright, enough prattling. I'm off to enjoy the rest of my wine.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!