��� 2004-05-29, 7:52 p.m.

Aerobics vs Sparring

I took a step aerobics class several years ago as a college course. It was challenging at the time. Now I have decided that aerobics is for pussies. Fifteen minutes of sparring and you burn more calories, pour more sweat AND have to be mentally alert at the same time.

My fourth sparring partner of the day was the scariest. Not because he had about a hundred pounds on me and not because he's a tai chi blackbelt. It was because he barely moved as we circled, just watched and slightly moved his hands. I felt like I was sparring a snake or a scorpion the way he moved so slowly, but I knew that if I kicked or punched he would strike and I'd be SOL. In all honesty, I probably had the least to fear from him because he exhibits a lot of control. One cool thing is that he grabbed me from behind and I was able to break the hold with a chin-na application. Sweet.

Before tai chi class today I was talking with another brown belt and a tai chi white sash about how I was having trouble getting excited about tai chi. It's so different from kung fu. All of a sudden I'm asked to move slowly and not punch hard and be calm. So this white sash guy (white guy, probably about 27ish, shaved bald with small wire rim glasses) starts talking about how tai chi is a physical meditation. It takes you back to where you were before you were born and brings complete inner peace. So I said, "So I should stop thinking about how to break someone's arm?" Ok, he had me until he started talking about the before-you-were-born thing.

An addendum to the wine I talked about last night, the 2001 Heritage Cab. It's only good for one night. When I tried it today it had lost all kinds of flavor, becoming almost bland. Bad in a wine. So unless you plan on getting totally crocked in one night or have a few people to share it with, I would not recommend getting the magnum bottle of this stuff.

Tonight's wine: 2001 Mondavi CK Merlot-Cab (60% merlot, 40% cab) This is not as good as the straight Mondavi CK Cab. It is lighter, low fruit and smooth until you swallow, then you get the tannins. I probably won't buy it again, but it's definately drinkable.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!