��� 2004-05-28, 8:57 p.m.

Paradox/Enigma/Conundrum

I've been thinking today about what a rare specimen I am. I am a true paradox. An enigma. A conundrum. After talking with me, people have no clue who I am, and even less who they are. I'm an almost vegetarian Republican (who could be convinced to become a Libertarian some day) who is an avid recycler and believes that we should not drill for oil in Alaska. I think traditional family values are very important, but I write erotica and don't really give a rat's ass if someone is gay (although I guess I feel like I should care). I do kung fu and carry concealed but I make my husband open doors for me (including the car door). I can listen to Andrea Bocelli belting out "Con te partiro" one moment and Garbage or Poe the next. Oh yeah, and I can't forget some good old Mista Grimm or Metallica from my high school days.

Given this, I guess it's no small wonder that I can never figure myself out. Maybe half the fun of living is figuring out what makes you such a freak. If I was into astrology I would say it's because I'm a Gemini (the twins). But I think that's crap, so I have no cosmic force to blame (since blaming God is pointless and leads to things like suicide and alcoholism - then again, so does writing...)

I had a discussion about this once with a friend a few months ago. I told her that I could never run for political office because I'm too liberal for the Republicans and too conservative for the Democrats. I guess that's better than being too conservative for the Repulicans and too liberal for the Democrats :) She said she would vote for me. Well, that's two votes for Glockgirl. Lookout, Presidential hopefuls.

I have a new wine of the day for you. (I know, it's been a while, but calm down.) This is the latest in el-cheapola Cabs for the financially challenged wine budget. This is the 2001 Heritage Vineyards Cabernet (california). I think it was about $9 for a magnum bottle. It's got a little bit of a chocolate scent when you first open the bottle. Starts out with quite a bit of tannins and not incredibly fruit forward but it had enough to keep me interested. It gets better as it breaths for about an hour (or if you drink for an hour before having some). It's not quite as good as the Mondavi CK Cabernet, but it's a buck cheaper if it means something to you.

Ok, here's a brain screw for you: I just randomly clicked on an MP3 that said it was Ray Stevens singing I'm My own Grandpa, and guess what starts playing? Cypress Hill singing Insane in the Membrane - in SPANISH. Holy crap for crap!

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!