��� 2004-04-25, 8:07 p.m.

Shaolin Triathlon Part Deux

Yesterday was the second week of the Shaolin Triathlon (I even learned to spell!) Tai Chi wasn't taxing, which is good because since we were all so talented at our cane form and didn't require a lot of review, we ended up sparring for half an hour. That's enough to kill the average person.

As it was, it was almost enough to kill me. I took an unfortunate jumping spinning kick underneath my chin, hitting about half of my throat. I sprawled on the floor, unable to move for a second while I surveyed the damage. Sifu ran over and asked me to move my jaw. I managed to do so, and said, "Nothing broken." As the shock started to wear off, I started feeling the tears well up in my eyes. That was worse than getting kicked. I breathed slowly, tried not to look at anyone. I crawled over to the fan in the corner and stood in front of it so that any tears that did dare come out would be dried right away. The last thing I needed was to cry in front of my whole brown belt class.

It was a shitty blow, but not enough to keep me out of brown belt conditioning. The class seemed easier this time, even though every time I swallowed I could feel where I got kicked. I guess that means I'm getting stronger. I hobbled home to nurse my wounds, count my bruises and take a nap. Someone tell me again why I'm doing this?? And tell me why I'm going back next week??

On a positive note, I figured up that I burned over 1,200 calories over my three classes.

Here's a little bit of life's irony: Friday morning as I was getting ready for work the power went down for about 15 seconds, then flickered on again. When I picked up the mail that afternoon there was a letter from the power company talking about how dedicated they are to providing reliable service. Bill and I decided they have a ways to go.

Time to make this new tofu vegetable dip I'm trying out. If it's any good I'll post the recipe.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!