��� 2004-04-20, 10:44 p.m.

NDE

When you have a near death experience, your life takes on new meaning. Today on my way to my Toastmasters meeting I was nearly nailed by a semi that ran a red light. If I had hesitated, if he had put on his brakes on a moment later, this diary entry may never have happened.

There is a saying, "If you chase two rabbits, both will escape." I used to think of this often while juggling my many responsibilities, my multiple passions. I always thought that I was chasing about twelve rabbits. I have shifted my theory somewhat. Perhaps the two rabbits are not two loves, two passions, two projects. Perhaps instead they are the rabbit of success and the rabbit of failure. I have decided to look at everything I do and decide which rabbit it is - success or failure - and act accordingly.

Alright, enough philosophy about rabbits. My fellow Toastmasters club officers allowed me to take meeting minutes today in place of the Secretary, who was absent. Their mistake. I sent out meeting minutes filled to the brim with smart ass remarks. Hehe. Some of my favorites: "Officers voted to return to club policy of not permitting speakers to change the speech times from what is listed in the manual objectives. Violators will be towed." and "Newsletter progress: Peg is working on but so far only has one article submitted to her. Joanna is probably supposed to be doing something here, but refused to own up to it." Rabbit of success - make people laugh and they will love you and believe anything you say.

This morning, Mary K berated me for not telling her that she didn't need to do anything for our boss's meeting. Uh. So all day long I fought the urge to send her instant messages like, "I started working on Dr. David's file. You don't need to do anything." or "Rose went to the bathroom. No reports need to be run."

As you can see, I'm full of crap today.

Wine of the day: 2001 Robert Mondavi Private Selection Chardonnay. Very smooth chard, not really all that oaky like most California chardonnay. Just a little sweet, a little apple tones. Very nice, and I think I only paid about $8 for it. A good buy. Would be great with a Dutch Perrano or Gruyere cheese. I also had a fantastic Emmenthal the other day. Probably would go well with that too.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!