��� 2004-04-17, 4:37 p.m.

The Shaolin Triathalon

Tai chi was a little more intensive this time as we went through the I Chin Ching exercises, then focused on our stances, which is a workout for the thighs in disguise. Thighmaster beware!

Brown belt class was the cane form over and over and over. In the sun. They brought us in before anyone passed out, then we did sparring for about ten minutes. One of my partners and I hit each other square in the mouth at the same time. It's the fun stuff like that that really makes kung fu worthwhile.

Conditioning class was the usual sit up and push up hell. This time we did reverse sit ups and reverse leg lifts, where one person is holding your legs (or shoulders) down while the other pulls down on your shoulders (or legs). And you are supposed to resist the whole time. I'm sure it's great for my abs, but it was hard to think about that while I was grunting, straining, and spewing sweat on my partners.

And so, the first day of the Shaolin triathalon has come to an end. Next week, more of the same plus additional situps, pushups, and the sadistic frog jump. I'm going to be out of town for the fourth and final class - God I hope that's not something I have to arrange to make up.

Plans for tonight have changed. Instead of Kyma, it looks like we will be going to Toulouse with Bill's friend Peter and his girlfriend. Should be a good night, we like her. I may even have a new wine of the day from the meal - has been too long since I tried something new.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!