��� 2004-04-01, 8:21 p.m.

Mantra

A coworker and I were discussing, during yesterday's workplace depression, that perhaps the key to survival was to not care. If we don't care, just do what we can do, do our work and leave it at that, we would have more energy for the other parts of our lives.

So today I decided to give it a shot. I woke up thinking, "Today will be a better day." Anytime something came up at work that would be a stressor, I said/thought, "I don't care!" Amazingly, it worked pretty well. I said I don't care about five times in the morning, took a long lunch, came back again repeating the new Firm mantra: "I don't care!"

I came home with more energy than I have in weeks. I even started working on my character sketches and names for my upcoming novel, which my sister ignited my fire for again during my call to her last night. Things are coming together and I have HOPE! The care that I saved up at work is coming out at home.

Give it a try, and if you like, report to me the results. This may become a scientific study.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!