��� 2004-03-30, 9:27 p.m.

What?

At tonight's Toastmaster's meeting (www.toastmasters.org), I proved once again that one does not need to have a significant speaking role to make an ass of oneself.

It was toward the end of the meeting when we were preparing to "swear in" some new club members. In the past, I have never had a role during this part of the meeting and therefore was not anticipating being called on. I was commenting on a grammatical blunder I made earlier in the evening to the person next to me when I realized the club president was speaking to me, apparently asking me to stand and read the names of the new members. At my blank stare, he sort of repeated the request. In my finest Toastmaster's moment of the year, I said, "What?"

After two years of studiously honing my public and impromptu speaking skills, the best I could come up with was "What?" For my next grandious performance, I will be teaching a new form in Kung Fu, leading the instruction of Flying Ass Monkey faces four Sniveling Shit Cranes.

I made some realizations at work today. 1. The reason I am not a best selling novelist is because I am at work during my best writing hours. At 10am, I am bursting with ideas, scribbling in my planner and not thinking about a 401(k) loan default. At 7 or 8pm, I am too exhausted to write.

2. No one is going to help me. I was reviewing an employee census with my boss. She was scrutinizing each employee's information, then asking questions and looking at me. I paused, she speculated on my memory of the work, then I reminded her that she was the one who imported the information. She didn't deny it, but didn't accept responsibility either. I am on my own, and amazed that I am still employed.

Wine of the day: 2001 Louis Bernard Cotes-du-Rhone-Villages. Not a bad wine for $8, and as I am not well versed in French wines, it's hard to describe. It's a dry red, low fruit. Pleasant aroma. The back of the bottle tells me it's a blend of Grenache (70%) and Syrah (30%). This would probably go very well with some strong flavored white cheeses, maybe Dutch Perrano or a goat gouda. This could help cut the acidity and bring out more of the fruit flavors. Tonight I'm pairing it with extravagence - a DiGiornio cheese pizza.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!