��� 2004-03-18, 10:42 p.m.

The Wedding Dress

A friend of mine plans to get married. She does not have a ring or set a date, but she got up at 5:30 this morning to camp out at the door of the biggest wedding dress sale in the metro Atlanta area. She knocked out four size 2's in her pursuit of a dress, was called a bitch twice and was nearly trampled in the make-shift changing room. She found a dress she liked, did not buy it, then begged me to go with her after work to see if it was still there.

I am not a girly girl. I didn't even shop for my own wedding dress. I went straight to the internet, sent my measurements to a dress maker, and presto! The perfect wedding dress. I was at first unenthusiastic about wedding dress shopping, but when I think about other times I've gone places with LW, I figured it might be interesting. (I recall her abusing an ATM machine, beating it with her fist and calling it a shit pony.)

The mob had died down when we got there around six. The tiniboppers had found their size 4's and gone home. There were 800 size 10's left, and 3 left in LW's size. It must have been meant to be, because in between the "I crocheted my own wedding dress" dress and the "my business merger wedding gown" dress was her garment of choice. She tried on the other two first. All the changing rooms were in use so she stripped down in the hallway. That was mildly uncomfortable for me, as I am not used to watching my friends undress. My finger is bruised from trying to zip them up. LW suggested it was user error. All the same size, but only THE dress zipped all the way up.

While we were admiring the beauty of a $3700 dress for $500, the make shift dressing room collapsed on five brides to be. Luckily we were on the outside, and we'd all already seen each other mostly nude anyway so it was no big shocker. I was holding her stylish chicken purse, bra, and shirt and she was nodding approvingly at the way the dress accentuated her breasts (AKA, "the girls".) It really is a beautiful dress. After much debate, two panic attacks and getting opinions from everyone in the general vicinity, she made the purchase. After leaving, it was time for a smoke and a shot of whiskey.

Ahh, love.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!