��� 2004-03-08, 8:56 p.m.

Fresh Outta Chi

It should have been a wonderful weekend. I should have tested beautifully and then kicked some ass in class. I should have enjoyed the fantabulous weather we had. Instead, my ass was stuck on the couch all weekend with my first and only cold of the season. The highlight of the weekend was cleaning up enough to go to the grocery store on Sunday because I was completely out of food and had already wasted away for a day.

So instead, I went to class tonight and tested. I had no business being there. There was a pool going on at the office as to whether or not I would pass out during my test. A guy in class put $10 on me not making it past 6:40. Unbelievably, I did pass AND made it through my first brown belt class. Sifu looked like he was in pain most of the time he was watching me go through my material. I think it started with my decidedly unferocious tiger form and deteriorated from there when I almost fell over doing short form #8. It was not flattering, but I hacked, gagged and staggered through my test. There will be plenty of time later to be pretty.

I tried to play Dominoes on the Yahoo games site to relax after class. The first table I joined booted me immediately. I rejoined, thinking surely it must have been their mistake, and was booted again. Must be my angry demon icon. So I joined another table, played a few turns with a robot, then even the robot refused to play with me. I started my own table and requested a bot to play with. None showed up. So I figure I'm fresh outta chi, may as well take a shower and go to bed. Nothing to see here, folks.

The Games the IRS Plays. A few months ago one of our clients got a letter from the IRS claiming they had posted tax payments to their account but had not received their tax return. We refiled the return. Last week, they got a letter saying they got the return, but since they haven't paid any taxes on it they owe $5000. Somewhere, some scrawny, itching accounting bastard who hasn't been laid since 1973 is sitting in his IRS cubible saying, "tee-hee!!"

Wine of the day: no can do - check again in a few days when I am able to speak again.

Whine of the day: see above "wine of the day."

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!