��� 2006-02-11, 4:51 p.m.

What Not to Drink

Heretat Vall-Ventos Merlot Rosat, 2002, product of Spain. One word. Nasty. I would rather drink Boone's Farm. I would rather be seen in public drinking white zin than be at home and be subjected to this garbage. It's offensive nose was almost as bad as its bitter, bland flavor. I think they took water out of the bottom of a rusty tin can and filled up the bottle with it.

I have a fairly strong tolerance for sub-standard wine, but I wouldn't use this to wash the dog of my sworn enemy. (It may, however, be useful for getting rid of unwanted company.) I can't even pour it down the drain for fear that the garbage disposal will hack it back up.

That said, so this isn't an entirely negative entry, a good 2002 is Montevina Zinfandel from the Sierra foothills of California. It's a pleasantly aromatic zin with fairly mellow spiciness. It's fruity and fun. I like it, and at $8 - $10 per bottle it's a super value. Plus the website is really funky. I like it.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!