��� 2006-02-28, 7:55 p.m.

Thankless

Mona came back today for her second day so that's good news. I didn't scare her off. Nan was still sick - she sounded worse today than she did yesterday. Doctor tells her she has the flu.

So today I was doing my work, Nan's work, taking Nan's phone calls and trying to train Mona. The phone rang off the hook all day long and I was run ragged. The junior parter comes in and asks me to return a pension call. I tell him ok. He comes back 20 minutes later to see if I had returned the call. I looked around at the stacks of work on my desk, my blinking voicemail light and my stuffed email inbox and told him, no I had not yet returned the call. Ten minutes later I get an instant message from him chastizing me for my lack of priorities.

Unh. I was stunned. If he had told me it was a f&cking emergency I would have dropped everything and done it. As it was, he made no indication that the client was waiting by the phone (which they probably were NOT.) Since I could not come up with a response to his message that did not include the word "bitch" or "pecker" I chose not to respond until tomorrow. The worst thing is that this asswipe isn't even my boss.

All this after I really made us look good today for a client. I freaking saved the day. Thankless. Utterly thankless.

How would you have responded to that message if it had arrived in your instant messenger box? I'm ready to hear some good ones...

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

1 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!