��� 2006-04-08, 11:38 a.m.

Size Advantage

Last night was Fight Night at the kung fu school. I was the only girl this time. *sigh* It went pretty well - lots of bruises but no blood, no injuries.

Close to the end of class, Sifu J came over to spar with me. He's about a foot and a half taller than me and has about 120 pounds on me - almost twice my weight. He says to me, "You no longer have the size advantage." I laughed out my mouth guard. Yeah, as if I EVER have the size advantage! Maybe when I'm sparring tiny 13 year old Olivia.

While I didn't have any glowing moments of instinct last night, when I was sparring Sifu D I heard some things I usually don't hear from him. "Good. Gooood. Nice elbow. Nice rib shot." Woot!

I did encounter a blue belt who challenged me. I really had to be on my guard with him, not just because he lacks control but because he's pretty good already. (Yes, also larger than me.) A couple of times though he caught my foot as I was kicking, and I'm thinking come on. If I was kicking at full speed it would be in your intestines before you had the chance to catch it. I'll let someone else teach him that lesson, though.

Today it's a down & ground fighting class - grappling. Something I know very little about but really should. Sifu S is teaching the class and he's really good. Expect another entry later about ground fighting :)

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

1 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!