��� 2006-04-04, 9:13 p.m.

Scent of a Man

Tonight I was helping set up the room for our Toastmasters meeting and one of the other members walked by me. I got a big, healthy noseful of his cologne and immediately went back in time. I went to a place where I should not have been while standing inside a church (our group meets in a church). I thought of a person and a time that seems like forever ago. It was kind of a fun little regression so I wanted to follow him around, sniffing. I figured that would be creepy and rude so I didn't, but I wanted to.

It's funny how our sense of smell can be such a strong memory enhancer. In addition to my fellow Toastmaster's unwitting time travel machine with his Calvin Klein, another cologne takes me other places. Bad places. If I ever smell a man wearing Giorgio I will spit on him and cast out the devil.

It's not just cologne. The smell of roasting turkey and dressing will always take me home to mom's. Fresh cut grass? I remember being 7 or 8 and skipping along the little paths my brother would make while mowing the lawn. The smell of hay will forever have me thinking about a new batch of baby kittens in the barn.

What strong smell/event/person correlations do you have?

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!