��� 2006-10-13, 10:58 p.m.

Sales Pitch

Yesterday Bill decided my car was making a funny noise. I took it in this afternoon and...dammit, he was right. My power steering pump is on its way out. I guess that's ok, it has been a couple of years since the last time it required major service.

The service guy told me best case it goes out and it's just hard to turn. I had a car with no power steering once - it sucked. Worst case, the belt breaks and breaks other belts. He didn't really need to go beyond no power steering. I was in. I told him to order the part and I'd bring the car in Thursday to get it fixed.

I'm almost on my way out of the parking lot when he flaggs me down and says they can give me a loaner car if I want to leave my car there so they can get to work on it right away when the part comes in. Ok, so maybe they're thinking they don't want to order this expensive part and then I decide to have it done somewhere else for cheaper, or maybe it's a little genuine concern for my well-being.

In any event, I don't care. I'm driving a new Acura around for three or four days. On the way home I decided it was actually a sales pitch to get me to buy a new Acura, because...damn. It's a sweet ride. Makes me realize the unfortunate age of my sweet Integra...my precious...

Then I think about having a car payment again and I start chewing my fingernails.

In non-auto news, I read that a poll shows that McCain and Clinton are the two top pics for the next presidential race. If that happens, I will go to the poll and vote for myself. Or maybe sabotage the ballot box. Or maybe I'll just stay home and get wasted. Good options, all.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!