��� 2006-07-02, 6:13 p.m.

Personal Soundtrack

It's funny how music is like a time machine. When I hear certain songs I am suddenly transported to a different time...and sometimes it seems a different life. Whatever song was popular - or popular just for me - at a certain time in my life can take me back there so quickly sometimes it's suprising. All of a sudden I can see and hear and feel everything from that time. Sometimes it's good and sometimes it's not.

When I hear Beck's "Loser" back to high school I go. I think about the guy I was dating at the time. Hmm. Appropriate.

If Alice Cooper's "Poison" or Warren G's "Regulators" comes across the airwaves I can feel all the anxiety, taste the cigarettes and experience the confusion that surrounded the time when I first met my ex-husband. That was the most f-ed up time of my life and I was only 17.

Abra Moore singing "Four Leaf Clover" takes me to a much happier time. It was post ex-freak, er ex-husband, happy best-friend days when she and I were together non-stop. If I hear that song, suddenly I'm on my way to Colorado in a bass-booming Corsica with a cooler full of Nestle diet shakes. LOL. Shawn Colvin and U2 will do the same thing. Charlie Peacock's "Insult Like the Truth" reminds me of another road trip I took with her to Nowhere, Nebraska. God, those were the days.

I'm sure there's music out there that reminds me of my club days, but I probably fried those memory brain cells with too many long island ice teas and tequila shots.

"Jumper" or "Save Tonight" takes me to my mostly post-clubbing days when I was really just figuring out who the hell I was.

Anything from Poe's "Hello" album, Republika (I think they only had one album) or Garbage's first two albums will transport me to when my husband and I first started dating. Though not the music of the day, we listened to those albums all the time for some reason and whenever I hear that music it makes me smile. I love it.

The list could go on forever. I wonder which songs will remind of this time in my life.

Am I the only one that this happens to or does anyone else have a musical time machine? Their own personal soundtrack?

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

1 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!