��� 2005-06-29, 8:27 p.m.

Kung Fu Auto Pilot

Today was a decent day at work. The boss is out of town and I only had to talk to him once on the phone. He didn't ask me to do anything particularly illegal.

After I got home and...worked some more...yawn...I finally talked myself into going into the basement to do some practicing. I have not done a personal practice session since the blowout at work two weeks ago. Ack, crap, yak. Being depressed is not conducive to motivating myself to work out.

Anywho, I drag myself down there saying, "You can do one fucking form, can't you? Just one form!" So I picked up my broadsword and made sure I could remember the form. Twice. That felt pretty good so I did Sea Dragon Cane and Four Eight Directional Staff. Then I picked up my sais. After the initial three or four moves my mind went completely blank and I thought I was going to lose it and have to start over. Instead, I jabbed out the sai just like I was supposed to, flipped the hold and stepped and continued all the way through the form, oblivious, letting my arms and legs go on kung fu auto-pilot all the way to the ending bow.

Woah. Maybe I do have chi after all.

Or maybe that's what happens when you've done a form three hundred times. Muscle memory, they call it. I used to have it back when I played piano. I guess that's what we use when we type. I think P and my finger automatically goes to that key without thinking about it. But doing it with kung fu is way cooler and burns more calories. :)


��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!