��� 2005-12-23, 1:53 p.m.

Dangerous Jobs

This past week has been a freaking zoo, as it always is this time of year. Instead of preparing for and going to Christmas parties, buying and wrapping gifts or baking cookies I'm working my ass off doing everyone's year end pension shit.

Yesterday I was working from home and absolutely freaking out because we were having problems on a file for our biggest client. So I'm stressed to the max and suddenly I hear this knocking sound - and it sounds like it's coming from the basement.

Ok, I have major home invasion paranoia to begin with, and I always worry that our walk-out basement provides easy access to a would-be intruder. So I hear that sound and think oh, shit. This is it. I ran and got my gun. I stood on the second floor balcony overlooking the foyer and heard something else. Something decidedly different than any noise our cats would make. So just in case someone was in ear shot I pulled the slide back on my gun. Half the time in cases of home invasion all those losers have to hear is the sound of a bullet being chambered and their sorry asses head for the hills in a heartbeat.

So I'm shaking and freaking out as I decend the stairs to check it out. I get to the bottom of the stairs and someone walks right by my front door. FUCK! I think. I was right! Someone was there!! But he walked by and kept right on going, so I ran upstairs and looked out the windows to see where he was going.

The Georgia Natural Gas truck was parked on the side of the street. It was the meter reader. I never realized until yesterday how dangerous of a job that could be!

On the upside I got to experience how I would respond in the event I truely felt threatened. I was scared shitless but I was level headed. I was thinking through the fear and acting rationally. Good to know.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!