��� 2007-01-28, 5:25 p.m.

Blind Tasting

Bill and I went to a blind wine tasting last night. The kind where they brown bag the bottles so you don't know what kind of wine it is, not the kind that involve seeing eye dogs. Let me tell you, if you think you know anything about wine, go to one of these and learn some humility.

Bill is pretty good at identifying white wines. Reds, however, are apparently not our strong suit. We were supposed to identify the grape used to make the wine we were trying. We got totally spanked. We got one out ten and that was only because I started guessing zinfandel every single time so that I would at least get one right. It didn't help any that the first several grapes were wierdass ones like tempranillo or gamet. Not the first grapes that come to mind.

It was downright embarrassing. Bad for my self-esteem. But...fun! Testing myself was good. Educational. It really forced me to think about what I was tasting and smelling instead of, oh this one is good or this one should be dumped down the drain. If you get the chance, I recommend trying a blind tasting.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!