��� 2005-12-07, 7:59 p.m.

Been Nice

My Toastmasters Club meets in the gymnasium of a church/school. In order to get into the parking lot I have to turn left across a street that is always backlogged with rush hour traffic. So it's the situation where you just have to sit there until people in both lanes stop so you can turn. Last night I'm on my way to Toastmasters, waiting to turn into the parking lot. The person in the lane closest to me stops. I start to inch out. All of the vehicles ahead of them are at a dead stop. This dickhead in the other lane just keeps rolling right up and blocks me from turning. He can't go anywhere! The cars in front of him are parked! GRRRR! If I hadn't been turning into a church parking lot I would have flipped him off. But I knew Jesus was watching.

See, Santa, I've been nice this year. Now about that Mercedes...

This afternoon I was sitting in my boss's office participating in the single most boring conference call in pension history. The guy on the other end of the line was rehashing the same point for the eighth time. My boss spins around in his chair to look at me just as I'm releasing a yawn the size of Nebraska. So he starts laughing, the kind of close-your-eyes-and-shake-til-you-look-like-your-about-to-blow-up laugh you do when you're at a funeral or a baby's sleeping. Not that I laugh at funerals. Anyway. I end up having to leave the room because I'm laughing so hard I'm crying. Next time I'll remember to bring a Coke to a conference call.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!