��� 2005-09-17, 11:48 p.m.

Ready

I think the house is ready for Mom. A few last minute items to pick up (fresh flowers and the like) tomorrow morning and we should be set. Last year when Mom visited we were still in the old apartment and I swear I spent a week solid working my ass off cleaning. Odd that I feel like I spent half the time cleaning three times the space.

But honestly I don't think I have to do much to impress them. They are coming here from my sister's house, AKA the F&cking Zoo from Hell. They probably wouldn't give a shit if the place looked like hell as long as they could sit in peace and quiet for ten minutes. God knows that's all I wanted when I left my sister's place in May. That an a straight shot of something 100 proof.

I was thinking today about what a stark difference there is between my sister and I. When she was my age she had three kids. I have three guns. She's constantly trying to please everyone. I try to please no one. (Well, ok, Bill I try to please, and am usually successful.) She works with kids as her job. I make a job of avoiding kids. She can go non-stop all day long without a break. I could break someone all day long. She's like the energizer bunny on crack. (Nice visual there.) This is your energizer bunny. This is your energizer bunny on crack. Hard to believe she and I came out of the same womb. God love her.

So for the next three days you may not hear from me. I'm sure I'll have an interesting tale or two to tell after all is said and done.

Wine of the day: 2002 Montevina Zinfandel. Zins are new territory for us. I had one last week that was ok, not great. This one was really great, we loved it. It's like a sweet red, just a little tang, nice and smooth, light bodied. Probably would have gone well with a strong fish like salmon. I can't be sure because I tossed the receipt but I think it was about $12 - can't imagine it being much more than that. Anyway, it is a very easy drinker and I highly recommend it!

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!