��� 2006-07-05, 6:46 p.m.

Nineteen Years

There was a guy in my high school that was uglier than a dog with leprosy. However, he hit on everything in the school that didn't have something dangling between its legs. He knew that eventually he was going to get a yes, he just had to go through a lot of no's to get there.

I have experienced a lot of no's. A lot of thanks but no thanks, a lot of form letters, a lot of better luck elsewheres. But like the guy in my high school, eventually I got a yes. I got an email today from the publisher I wrote about Monday night/Tuesday morning...offering me a contract for my book.

When I saw the line on my inbox saying who sent me an email and the title included OFFER, my heart started to pound. My ears got that crinkly sound in them like when I'm about to pass out. (Not that I pass out often...um...anyway...) I read the email, then I stood up and screamed. The cats freaked. I picked up the phone to call my best friend but started to cry. So I set the phone down and cried a little, then called her and cried some more.

I called Bill, totally expecting to get his voice mail (he was on a plane to Denver for work) and he answered - they'd just landed. He told me to open some wine. I told him the wine was already open :)

So now, after experiencing raw emotion in a way I haven't in years, I sit and ponder how I came to be here. I certainly haven't "arrived" nor do I have a contract in front of me yet, but...someone said yes. Someone other than my best friend or significant other said yeah, it's good stuff. Someone who can share that good stuff with others.

I started writing the summer between fifth and sixth grade - or was it fourth and fifth? So that means I've been writing since I was ten - nineteen years. God, now that I put it that way, it's about freaking time.

Does this mean that I'm no longer the Queen of Rejection?

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

2 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!