��� 2004-08-07, 9:37 p.m.

Fine day, fine wine

Something strange is happening. Suddenly I'm feeling stronger, faster, more flexible. Sifus have even remarked on it. Today I did more pushups than the guys in class. I did more leg lifts. I put my head to the floor during stretching. What if there really is a multiverse like in The One, and one of my alternate selves is out there offing the other me's, making me stronger and faster. Since it's not me killing myselves, perhaps I should be on guard.

A more likely scenario involves two things: running and The Kwan Tao. Damn. I am not Jet Li. No supernatural causes, no alternate universes. Just plain old hard work. Well, I'll take it where I can get it. Anything that makes a sifu look at me as though he's impressed, or wonder of wonders, respectful, is worth every bead of sweat. I feel good, da na na na na na na!

More interesting than my physical manifestations of improvement is the great wine we had tonight. I made a quite tasty shrimp scampi and served it with the 2002 Kendall Jackson Grand Reserve Chardonnay. I must say, if you've had the KJ Vinter's Reserve and liked it, you MUST have the Grand Reserve. It is hands down the best chard I've ever had. It has the KJ BIG oak (which, if you do not know, comes from adding muscat to the chard) perfect freshness and gentle, almost hidden sense of sweetness that goes perfectly with shellfish. My God. I'm reveling in it at the moment. When you seldom eat anything that ever moved on its own and save yourself for the really good stuff (such as my shrimp scampi) it makes it all worthwhile.

Ok, if you've had enough of my raving and are interesting in trying it on your own, the recipe is super simple: heat about 1/3 - 1/2 c olive oil (you be the judge, you're an adult). Add 3-5 cloves of garlic, minced and brown. Add 1 lb. shrimp, peeled and deveined and salt and pepper to taste. Turn shrimp when half done, add 1/4 c minced parsley. Give it a minute or two, pour over about 1/4 c white wine (such as the 2002 Kendall-Jackson Grand Reserve). Finish cooking and serve over hot buttered noodles. You could put fresh grated parmesan over the top if you wanted to. Next time I'm thinking of soaking saffon threads in the wine and pouring a little heavy cream into the mix to create a rich, heavenly sauce.

Ahhhh. It's the little things in life that make the difference. God bless America.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!