��� 2006-03-04, 1:36 p.m.

Fight Night

I went to my first fight night at the kung fu school last night. It was a lot of fun, I have to say, particularly since I did not get my ass kicked. It was a little strange that since I'm black belt I got to choose my sparring partners first instead of just fumbling around hoping to hook up with someone. For the first time I really felt pressure to perform while sparring and do well. Just because I have black on my belt doesn't mean that I'm better than everyone, but people expect you to be better. Fortunately, last night I was usually better. (Although a brown belt twice my size did drag me around quite a bit.)

One guy I hadn't met before really creeped me out. He's a blue belt and every time I got in a good hit in on him he got this look on his face like....like...he was getting something out of it in a place I don't wanna think about. It was pretty creepy, so I'm sure glad I kicked his ass so he didn't get any ideas.

I did have a real moment last night, though. I made a move on autopilot. A good move, even. I was sparring creepy guy and he did something to pull down my right side and before I even knew it was moving my left fist had connected with the side of his head. It was very exciting - maybe I have instincts after all!

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

1 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!