��� 2007-03-18, 11:24 a.m.

I Can Read and Write

Yesterday morning I had to get up at 7am and go take a test. That's 7am on a Saturday to go prove to the Georgia University System that I can read and write. Give me an f'ing break.

Apparently if you didn't go to high school in Georgia or you can't get your hands on your SAT scores you have to take this retarded "regents test." Ok, I was told if I didn't take it I couldn't take any more classes, so off I go, thinking an hour, tops, and I'll be home to continue my weekend.

I was totally unprepared. The line to get into the room for the test was all the way down the hall. Everyone was holding a dictionary. I was never told to bring a dictionary. When I got seated the two women sitting next to me were telling me all about this prep class for the test that was held two weeks ago, again, something I knew nothing about. So I was pissed by time we finally got started actually taking the test at 9:30.

The test was two parts: essay and reading comprehension. We had 60 minutes to do the essay. I was done in 25 minutes. Of course, you're not allowed to read or move (breathing might be allowed) for the rest of the remaining test time. So I sat there and drooled on myself for 35 minutes.

The reading comprehension part was just as easy. The little excerpts they had us read were actually entertaining so that helped. I finished and drooled on myself some more before we were released at almost noon. NOT how I wanted to spend my Saturday morning.

Ok, now here's the idiocy of all of this. I have a fucking 4.0 GPA. At what point is it necessary to waste everyone's time making me prove that I can read and write? Maybe I just should have submitted one of my novels? Ack.

��� Prev, Next,

NaNo - 2008-10-09
Too Long - 2008-07-22
It's Over 2007 - 2007-11-30
Sandbagging - 2007-11-05
Daylight Savings Time - 2007-11-03

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!